Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Sefer Yetzirah

Sefer Yetzirah Motherboard

I made a poster of this image in the early 1990's and it sold out.  So I'm finally making it available to people as the high-quality Giclee print on canvas.  Most of the concepts that are presented in Sefer Yetzirah appear in this image. 

Beginning of Sefer Yetzirah

This picture contains the Hebrew words that comprise the Beginning of Sefer Yetzirah (The Book of Creation):

"With Thirty-two Mystical Paths
of Wisdom

engraved Yah -

Kosmic DNA

When the Sefirot are first presented in the Tanya (the classic text from the first Lubavitcher Rebbe) they are called Three Mothers and Seven Doubles.  The Three Mothers refer to the three higher Sefirot Keter, Chochmah and Binah (Crown, Wisdom and Understanding).  The Seven Doubles refer to the seven lower Sefirot Chesed, Gevurah, Tiferet, Netzach, Hod, Yesod and Malchut (Love, Strength, Beauty, Victory, Majesty, Foundation and Kingship).

Kosmic Knots

This picture and Kosmic Chambers share an influence from the amazing art of M. C. Escher and are both based on the Sacred Geometry that is expressed in the order of the Twenty-two Hebrew Letters according to Sefer Yetzirah.

This design is also reminiscent of Celtic Knots.  Look at the center of this picture and see how inside the central ring are Three Shins in the primary colors - yellow, blue and red (going clockwise from the top).  Here, as in my picture Kosmic Chambers, the two outer 'arms' of each Shin is shared with its neighbors. 

Kosmic Chambers

This picture and 'Kosmic Knots' (another new picture on this website) were drawn about the same time in the early 1990's.  The originals are small, and the design was produced using a pencil, compass, straightedge and then inked and colored with watercolors.

The design of this picture is based on the Geometry used in my picture 'The Holy Palace' and derives from the order of the Twenty-two Hebrew Letters according to Sefer Yetzirah - Three Mother, Seven Double, and Twelve Simple Letters.

Sefirot and Letters

This picture is of the kabbalistic Tree of Life.  The names of the Sefirot are written around the circles.  Although Daat (Knowledge or Consciousness) is not usually included as one of the Ten Sefirot, this picture includes Daat (the white circle).

Astrology Chart

An old friend of mine who is an expert in astrology (among other things) was visiting and explained some aspects of astrology I was not familiar with by sketching out a small diagram that was the basis for this painting.

I included in this chart (from the outermost circle and going inward) the names of the Jewish months and human aspects associated with them, from Sefer Yetzirah;

whether this sign is cardinal, fixed or mutable (the first, middle or last month of the season); the names of the astrological signs;

their symbol;

32 Paths of Creation

The following quote is from the very beginning of Sefer Yetzirah.
These are the Hebrew words that can be seen surrounding
the Tree of Life diagram in this picture:


"With Thirty-two Mystical Paths of Wisdom
God (Yah...) engraved and created His Universe
with Three Sepharim:
with Sefer (letters),
with Sephar (numbers)
and with Sippur (a story).


Chapter 6: Conclusion of Sefer Yetzirah

These are the Three Mother Letters Aleph, Mem and Shin.

Chapter 5: Twelve Simple Letters

The Twelve Simple Letters are
Heh ה, Waw ו, Zayin ז, Chet ח, Tet ט, Yod י,
Lamed ל, Nun נ, Samech ס, Ayin ע, Tzadi צ, Kof ק.

Their foundation is
speech, thought, motion, sight, hearing, action,
sex, smell, sleep, anger, taste, and laughter.

The foundation of the Twelve Simple Letters
Heh, Waw, Zayin, Chet, Tet, Yod,